baltimore city election results 2020

Maryland Election Results

Updated Nov. 27, 2020, 11:17 AM ET

Maryland Election Results

Joseph R. Biden Jr. won 10 electoral votes from Maryland. Read more

In a state where both senators and seven out of eight House members are Democrats, and where presidential politics are also reliably blue, voters in Maryland’s Seventh Congressional District re-elected Representative Kweisi Mfume for a seat that he recaptured in April in a special election after the death of his friend Elijah Cummings. Mr. Mfume, who held the seat for almost a decade until 1996 when he resigned to become chief executive of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, overwhelmingly defeated the Republican, Kim Klacik, in April.

Mr. Mfume pledged after the special election, in which votes were cast largely by mail, to focus on management of the coronavirus pandemic in a district that is 55 percent Black and includes parts of the City of Baltimore as well as Howard County.

Ms. Klacik, who unsuccessfully challenged Mr. Mfume again, founded a nonprofit that helps women develop workforce skills. — JON HURDLE Read less

See full results and maps from the Maryland elections.

City elections in Baltimore, Maryland (2020)

The city of Baltimore, Maryland, held general elections for mayor, city comptroller, 15 city council seats, and five circuit court judgeships on November 3, 2020. A primary was scheduled for June 2, 2020. The filing deadline for this election was January 24, 2020.

Click here to learn more about the city’s mayoral election.


  • 1 Election procedure changes in 2020
  • 2 Elections
  • 3 Candidates and results
    • 3.1 City comptroller
    • 3.2 City council
    • 3.3 Circuit court judgeships
  • 4 Endorsements
  • 5 Additional elections on the ballot
  • 6 Local ballot measures
    • 6.1 What was at stake?
      • 6.1.1 Report a story for this election
      • 6.1.2 Candidate survey
    • 6.2 About the city
      • 6.2.1 City government
      • 6.2.2 Demographics
    • 6.3 Pivot Counties
    • 6.4 See also
    • 6.5 External links
    • 6.6 Footnotes

Election procedure changes in 2020

Ballotpedia provided comprehensive coverage of how election dates and procedures changed in 2020. While the majority of changes occurred as a result of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, some changes occurred for other reasons.

Maryland modified its absentee/mail-in and candidate filing procedures, early voting, and polling places for the November 3, 2020, general election as follows:

  • Absentee/mail-in voting: Absentee/mail-in ballot request forms sent to all qualified voters in the general election. The return deadline for absentee/mail-in ballot requests was October 20, 2020.
  • Candidate filing procedures: The petition signature requirement for obtaining party status for the Green and Libertarian parties was reduced from 10,000 to 5,000 signatures. The nomination petition signature requirement for unaffiliated candidates was reduced by 50 percent.
  • Early voting: An early voting period ran from October 26, 2020 through November 2, 2020.
  • Polling places: All early voting centers and Election Day polling locations were open on November 3, 2020. The Maryland State Board of Elections operated a limited number of centralized voting centers in lieu of precinct polling places for in-person voting in the general election.

For a full timeline about election modifications made in response to the COVID-19 outbreak, click here.


Click on the tabs below to show more information about those topics.

Ballotpedia: The Encyclopedia of American Politics ]]>